Nasheed elected as next president of Maldives

Wednesday, 29 October 2008 20:02

The main opposition leader presidential candidate of Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) coalition Mohamed Nasheed (Anni) has been elected as the next president of Maldives, according to provincial election results.

Provincial election results of the second round of first ever multiparty presidential elections puts Mohamed Nasheed (Anni) in the lead with 54 percent votes. Provincial results of the 404 ballot boxes stationed in capital Male’, inhabited islands, resort islands, industrial and in some foreign countries, as of 0500 this morning, indicates that Nasheed received 96,964 votes. This is 54.20 percent of the 178,905 valid votes of 403 ballot boxes. Dhivehi Rahyithunge Party leader and presidential candidate Maumoon Abdul Gayoom who contested the second round of elections received 45.80 percent. Provincial election results of 403 ballot boxes gives Nasheed some 15,023 votes more than Gayoom.

According to Interim Election Commission 209,294 voters were eligible to cast their votes in the second round of elections and although initially 403 ballot boxes were stationed in Male’, atolls and in some foreign countries, the number of ballot boxes was later increased to 404. An additional box was stationed to facilitate voting for those who faced voting difficulties due to their names being on the voter list caused errors on part of the election commission.

A second round of elections was called for as none of the six candidates who contested the first round of elections held 8 October failed to obtain 50 percent majority. Under article 111 of the constitution ratified on 7 August this year, if none of the candidates contesting the first round elections obtained 50 percent of the votes then a second round of elections is required between candidates who achieved most votes and the runner up candidate.

The runoff elections of the 2008 presidential elections were contested between Dhivehi Rahyithunge Party (DRP) presidential candidate Maumoon Abdul Gayoom and Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) presidential candidate Mohamed Nasheed (Anni). Atolls Minister Ahmed Thasmeen Ali contested the runoff as the running mate of DRP’s candidate. Dr. Mohamed Waheed Hassan Manik, chairperson of the Maldives National Congress, contested the runoff elections as the running mate of MDP coalition’s candidate.

As of 0530 this morning provincial election results of 396 ballot boxes puts Mohamed Nasheed (Anni) in the lead with 95,207 votes (54.04%). Gayoom received 80,981 votes (45.96%).


Enter your email address:

Send us your news and get published