Bill on Maldives Tourism Act sent to Committee

Thursday, 29 January 2009 20:24


People’s Majlis on Wednesday has accepted the bill proposed by the government to amend the Maldives Tourism Act and has passed to send the bill to an 8 member Majlis adhoc committee.

When the bill was put to vote, 15 members out of 31 in attendance voted in favor of accepting the bill. 15 members also voted against the bill. As a result of the deadlock the chair, Speaker of the Majlis Mohamed Shihab as per article 87 of the constitution took part in the vote. Shihab voted in favor of accepting the bill and consequently the bill was accepted to the Majlis. In addition, although the Majlis Standing Orders bans members from taking part in votes in which members may have a personal interest, several members owning resorts took part in the vote.

In the opportunity opened to propose committees to send the bill for further scrutiny 2 committees were proposed and supported. Even though Noonu MP and Leader of People’s Alliance (PA) proposed to send the bill to the Majlis standing committee on Economic Affairs, Majlis voted in favor of sending the bill to Majlis adhoc committee proposed by Laamu MP Moosa Manik and supported by President’s member Mohamed Riyaz. Majlis voted in favor of Moosa Manik’s committee by 16 members voting in favor out of 25 cast.

The committee approved by the Majlis comprises of Gnaviani member Mohamed Ibrahim Didi, President’s member Ahmed Haleem, Dhaalu Member ADK Ahmed Nashid, Ga member Abdulla Jabir, Faafu member Ahmed Hamza, Thaa member Hassan Afeef and Addu member Ahmed Aslam. The committee is basically of members representing the ruling collation and members of the Majlis who owns resorts.

At Majlis sitting Tourism Minister Dr. Sawaad has expressed that the objective of the bill is to secure additional funds to the state budget.


Enter your email address:

Send us your news and get published